Katy Trail Home  The Katy Trail and Rock Island Trail Rock Island Trail Home

Bike Stop Cafe

Restaurant, Grocery, Bike Shop, Bike Rental, Restroom, Shuttle
Bike Rental
Mile marker 39.5
701 S Riverside Drive

Bike Stop Cafe is located on the Katy Trail, in St Charles MO

Daily 7AM-7PM

Services include car transfer and luggage transfers

The only full service shuttle company located on the trail
Bike Stop Cafe
Show directions from Bike Stop Cafe to traveling
Bike Stop Cafe
Your Current Location (if allowed by browser)
Katy Trail
Rock Island Trail

Forum Discussions about Bike Stop Cafe

Bike Stop Cafe in St Charles
David Habanero from Birmingham, AL on 10/24/2023 01:02 PM:
Really nice bike shop/cafe/bakery. Used them for a St. Charles to Clinton shuttle on 10/17, then visited again after finishing my ride on 10/22. The Humina Humina sandwich and Vegan Queso were really really good. Picked up a few souvenirs too of course! Very convenient to the St. Charles trailhead.

Bike Stop Cafe in St Charles
Jackie from Columbiaville, Michigan on 07/06/2021 11:38 AM:
We are planning to ride the trail in September. We would like to share a ride with others as there are just two of us. We would be traveling from St. Charles (need car parking) to Sedalia on either the 18th or the 19th of September. What would the cost be? Thanks

Bill in Houston from Houston on 07/06/2021 12:12 PM:
Most vendors don't seem to monitor the page. Your best bet would be to contact them directly.

Rain out rescues by Bike Stop Cafe
Jodi from Saint Charles on 10/26/2020 09:17 AM:
If you need a rain-out rescue call Tony at Bike Stop Cafe. 314-973-4422.

Bike Stop Cafe in St Charles
Mr. Bump from Hannibal on 12/06/2018 12:01 PM:
Great food! Fancy coffee. They serve beer. Expert mechanic repaired my broken spoke, trued the wheel, and had it back on my bike fast. Saved our tour. Wow, best $20 I ever spent in my life. Many thanks to these wonderful people. I highly recommend this place.

Adam from Kansas City on 12/06/2018 12:16 PM:
Couldn’t agree more! After some logistical oversight on our part and some bat luck with two flats and less than ideal weather, they not only picked us up, but had supplies to reprovision us, and fed us while we waited. Super friendly staff that took care of us and so much so yay we went back the next morning for another round of coffee and smiles. It’s a must to visit when on the east side!

Bike Stop Cafe in St Charles
Ann from Georgetown, KY on 05/31/2018 03:58 PM:
Great place right off the trail to stop for lunch. Wonderful salads.

Bike Stop Cafe in St Charles
RTV from Louisville, KY on 09/14/2017 09:59 AM:
Finished the ride and had lunch here. It's small with an extensive menu. I had a great wrap and should have ordered one for dinner. The staff are hip, friendly and helpful. Highly recommend this little place.

Bike Stop Cafe in St Charles
MJ from Maryland Heights,MO on 06/11/2017 05:22 PM:
Tony was great to work with in arranging our shuttle. He was so accommodating and we heard this from several other people who also used this service. We will definitely book a shuttle from Bike Stop Cafe the next time we do a multi-day ride!

Bike Stop Cafe in St Charles
Will W on 07/07/2016 04:49 PM:
Nice little establishment. Went in covered in mud and making a mess in the process, the workers didn't bat an eye. Great service and the food was brought out quickly, so we lost minimal time on our trip. The food was good, not super cheap but fairly reasonable, and it sat well for the next 20 miles of our ride. Thoroughly enjoyed the bikestop and I would most definitely recommend it!

Mike from San Diego on 07/11/2016 02:41 PM:
I bike-commuted to the Bike Shop Café on July 3rd before heading out on the Katy Trail and arrived at the restaurant with my shoes covered in mud. The shop was open and everyone was very friendly as I clopped back and forth across their floor to clean up in their rest room. Everyone was very encouraging about my adventure and breakfast with coffee were much appreciated too! I rode another 60 miles that day to Hermann, arriving wet and muddy but very pleased with my day!

Great shuttle
cliff anderson from charlotte on 05/05/2016 09:18 PM:
I made the grave mistake of reserving a shuttle for a Monday and then arriving on Sunday. Tony very graciously got out of bed, said no problem, and took me to Boonville. Many thanks for the above-and-beyond service. Great folks!

Trail conditions north of Weldon Spring
Linda from Chesterfield on 02/13/2016 12:18 PM:
Any updates on the big ruts in the trail here and also between Mattson and Augusta? Assuming they won't fix until March?

Joe from St. Louis on 02/16/2016 11:47 PM:
I haven't been on the trail since last November but the area around Weldon Springs was in bad shape last year. There were several deep ruts, potholes and washed out areas, as well as downed trees, branches and big rocks/boulders covering the trail. The entire stretch of trail that traverses St. Charles County is suspect. I notified the MO DNR as well as St. Charles County about the poor condition of the trail there.

I've navigated the entire length of the Katy Trail several times and St. Charles County by far has the worst section of trail. It's a disgrace to our state, especially considering that St. Charles County is the wealthiest county in Missouri and one of the most populated. This portion of the trail should be very well maintained considering those points. We need to hold the proper people accountable for this in the future and make sure they do their jobs to keep it maintained.

Please help if you see issues and let the proper agencies know. If one or two people call they don't do anything but if 100 people call they'll have it fixed in a timely manner. Some of the deep ruts, potholes and washed out portions in St. Charles County have been there for several years since I've noted them. So it's pretty obvious that whoever is in charge doesn't care and will continue not to until we come together and hold them accountable.

This bill that's been proposed to allow golf carts and atvs on the trail will only make this situation worse going forward for walkers/hikers/joggers/cyclists. The trail is already poorly maintained in some areas without the burden of heavier motor vehicles that will further compound the problem by adding exponential stress, wear and tear to the trail. I would venture to guess that an atv or golf cart on a wet, sloppy trail would be the equivalent wear of several hundred walkers/cyclists. For example one atv speeding around a curve on the trail after a recent rain could leave quite a decent sized rut or the weight of the vehicle could cause a loose section of the trail to collapse or erode. Hopefully people care about the trail and don't let it go to hell through apathy and abuse. The Katy Trail is world class and truly one of the most treasured places in Missouri.

Anonymous on 02/17/2016 08:35 AM:
And it wasn't that long ago there were discussions here about DNR being underfunded. We needed more money than allocated to maintain the trail, yet it makes sense to some to allow the maintenance cost to be drive up further.

dennis on 02/17/2016 01:42 PM:
Linda, I rode from the Research Park connector (~52MM) to Defiance on February 1st. The trail was fine. There was only one slightly damp area that was being touched up with a grader that day. I didn't ride on the Matson to Augusta stretch.

Dutch on 03/18/2016 05:31 PM:
It was passable all the way thru this week

JenK from St. Louis on 04/02/2016 05:32 PM:
The St. Charles part of the trail continues to be miserable. I don't mind (and expect) a few ruts here and there, but this part of the trail (from Page overpass to St. Charles) makes for an unbearable ride. Who, exactly do we need to be calling about this?

Bike Stop Cafe in St Charles
BikerSpritz on 02/13/2016 03:48 AM:
We love this place! Good is very good, staff is friendly and the view is nice. Peanut butter balls are especially tasty after a ride! Sometimes line is long since non-bikers also like this cafe, but makes a great stop for lunch or snack. *food is very good (no in text edit apparently)

Bike Stop Cafe in St Charles
dan Farley on 02/16/2014 06:48 AM:
Horrible food and overpriced, NEVER will patronize the Café again

Pseudio on 02/16/2014 08:46 AM:
If thats the place by the Lewis and Clark statue, rented bikes there Oct 29 2011 (in town for last game of Cards WS). They were nice, adjusted bikes for myself and son, price and availability were good for time of year for a ride to Weldon Springs and back. Maybe he or she should switch roles or vice versa of cooking fries and changing cranks?

Jim W. from St Louis on 02/16/2014 08:58 AM:
We have eaten there a number of times and always found it pleasant and friendly. Food is simple and good for the price.

Pam from Independence on 02/19/2014 05:20 PM:
My mom lives in St Charles and we try to eat lunch there whenever we are there. Of course we also bike and eat there.

Bike Stop Cafe from St. Charles on 12/22/2015 03:48 PM:
Sorry for your disappointment Dan Farley. I am curious what you ordered and what you were charged for it?

ArkyKenny on 12/23/2015 05:48 PM:
Good place! Good sandwich, good coffee, nice atmosphere. We also.parked our car there (safely) and used their shuttle service to Clinton. All went well. Thanks.

SueC from Columbia on 12/28/2015 02:00 PM:
I've been to Bike Stop Cafe twice now. We had great food both times and the price was very reasonable. Good friendly service too. Good coffee. They have beautiful outdoor seating with fire pits aside tables. We love this place.

Bike Stop Cafe in St Charles
Jim from Western Springs on 09/13/2015 09:00 AM:
Does you bike shop offer a shuttle to the Amtrak Station in Kirkwood. If so, please let me know the charge and the advance time to make a reservation. Two of us are planning to be in St. Charles and take the early train to Sedalia on the morning of October 7th. Thanks

Anonymous on 09/14/2015 11:01 AM:
Get their phone number from the list of St Charles services on this website and call them for information about this.

Bike Stop Cafe in St Charles
Biology Bob from Canton, Ohio on 03/12/2015 12:56 PM:
Do you rent bikes for multiple days? If so, can I rent a bike, ride trail for 2 days(about 100 miles) and have you come pick bike up? Do you have rates for 2015 yet. I am thinking of doing this in June.

Anonymous on 03/12/2015 02:41 PM:
This is not the Bike Stop Café. You may want to contact them if you want information from them.

RGR from West Plains, Mo on 03/13/2015 01:42 PM:
Bob, if you will post your card #, the expiration and the 3 digit # on the back, I'll have a bike with your name on it. Seriously I will have a bike with your name on it. You however will not.

Jim W from St. Louis on 03/13/2015 02:18 PM:
Bob, you may want to contact them directly at: www.bikestopcafes.com

Cathy from Jefferson City on 03/14/2015 07:06 PM:
Bob, I am glad to see someone from the Buckeye State is planning a trip on the Katy Trail. There is a place in Jefferson City that now rents bikes, Red Wheel Bike Shop. Their new location is 400 W. Main, just about 1/2 mile or less from the entry to the pedestrian/bike path across the Missouri River. That connects to the Katy Trail, it's maybe 3 miles or so from the North Jefferson Trailhead on the Katy Trail. Have a great trip.

Pseudio on 03/20/2015 12:25 PM:
Anon and RGR, you need to get together for a laugh stand-up together. Possibly some people from out of state believe this forum to have people to help them, like Jim did, to find the contact information for the Bike Stop Cafe.

Anonymous on 03/20/2015 07:32 PM:
Thought I did offer help. Ha ha Psudoe.

Bike Stop Cafe in St Charles
Cindy Livell from Arnold MO on 04/29/2014 08:29 AM:
Do you rent recumbent bikes? If so what is the rental fee?

Anonymous on 04/29/2014 09:06 AM:
Bike Stop Cafe

701 S Riverside Drive

2nd Street Bike Stop Cafe in St Charles
Anonymous on 05/24/2012 10:56 AM:
do you rent electric bikes

JD on 06/17/2012 02:31 PM:
So sorry, we do not rent electric bikes

2nd Street Bike Stop Cafe in St Charles
Kara from SPringfield, IL on 04/23/2012 11:47 AM:
Do you offer shuttle from Hermann to St. Charles and what is latest pm pick up time available?

MidSouth from Rogersville, MO on 04/23/2012 02:05 PM:
Kara, I think you will get a better response if you contact the various Shuttle providers directly by phone. There are variables that will need to be discussed before they can quote you a price, such as number in your party, number and type of bikes, day of week, time of day, etc.

2nd Street Bike Stop Cafe in St Charles
Jodi from St, Charles on 12/10/2011 10:47 PM:
The hours have changed. Sun-Mon 9am-3pn, Tues-Wed, 7am-3pm, Thurs-Sat 7am-6pm