Katy Trail Home | Mileage Chart | Towns and Services | Trip Planner | Comment Forum | Events | Shirts/Merchandise | Maps

Katy Trail Rock Island Spur Comments
Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport

Pros: The accomadations were fine. New build, clean, pretty setting.
1. They charged us a cancellation fee when we cancelled more than 30 days before our arrival date.
2. 4pm check in time is too late. Then they charge you $25 for early check in.
3. We had unique parking needs when we arrived. We called, went to the main building between 4&6pm as instructed and couldn't locate anyone to ask questions.
Recommendation: Have someone present to help check in, answer questions, or maybe a friendly "Welcome".....

posted Aug 3 2015 6:28PM - Sean Swift, Sand Springs, OK

It appears you are one of hardly none that has a negative comment over the past several years about this B&B? So you did ride the trail even though you cancelled your ride? I believe it has a self-check in policy? Maybe you were higher maintenance than most KT riders for this particular B&B.
posted Aug 3 2015 7:03PM - Anonoh

Anonoh, we had two rooms, cancelled one. This was our second tour and our 12th of 13th B&B along the Katy. It's never good when you can't raise communication with the proprietors even though it was during their preferred check in time and you search the buildings and grounds and call the contact number. We don't usually have any lodging problems or complaints.
posted Aug 3 2015 8:19PM - Sean Swift

It's important to read policy before making a reservation. Often times it doesn't matter what the cancel fee is or the arrival time upcharge. They must have enough business that they can get away with doing as they do. There are other lodging options in the area.
posted Aug 4 2015 12:05PM - Anonymous

Yes I read the policies etc. as I said, the main beef was no way to find or contact the owners regarding a question involving parking a larger vehicle and OBVIOUSLY there is other lodging in the area which we will pursue our next visit....
posted Aug 4 2015 1:25PM - Sean Swift

We're sorry our self-service property didn't meet your hospitality expectations and you weren't able to contact us that afternoon/evening when you had questions. I'm really puzzled about that as we are at the Inn from 4 pm to at least 6 pm every day we have Inn guests to check in and that was definitely the case on this Saturday. Also, our business cell phone is always on so that guests in any property can contact us anytime they have a question after hours. We provide this phone number in the Dorm House arrival letter and on the Dorm House porch.
It's not unusual to not have personal contact with guests staying in our self-service property, as several cyclists arrive late and leave early. We don't knock on guest's doors at night unless there is an emergency, etc.
posted Aug 29 2015 5:05PM - School House Innkeeper, Rocheport

Tags: Rocheport, School House B&B, Dormitory at School House B + B, Parking Modify Tags

Home | Katy Trail Mileage Chart | Towns / Services | Trip Planner | Forum | Events | Katy Trail Maps | Merchandise | Advertise | Contact Us

Follow trailhub on Twitter
By using this website, you agree to the Terms and Conditions.
This information may not be copied or reproduced in any way.
© Copyright 2018 BikeKatyTrail.com. All rights reserved. BikeKatyTrail is a registered trademark.