Katy Trail Home  The Katy Trail and Rock Island Trail Rock Island Trail Home

Dormitory at School House B + B

Lodging
Mile marker 178.3
303 Lewis Street
573-698-2022
Dormitory at School House B + B is located 1/3 mile from the Katy Trail, in Rocheport MO

Directions: Pike St. crosses trail @ trailhead. N on Pike 2 blocks to 3rd St. Left on 3rd 2 blocks to Lewis, then N on Lewis 2nd house on right.
Dormitory at School House B + B
Dormitory at School House B B
Your Current Location (if allowed by browser)
Katy Trail

Forum Discussions about Dormitory at School House B + B

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
DW from Kirksville on 09/17/2018 07:25 AM:
We really enjoyed our stay At the Dormitory at School House B&B, we have been staying there since 2010. Has all the basic needs we like. Very clean and convent to the downtown and shops. If you come to ride the Katy trail like we do you will be impressed that there is a bike shed to keep your bike in and even basic repair and air needs.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Dennis & Beverly from Monett MO on 09/03/2018 01:35 PM:
What a wonderful, cozy, clean and quiet place for 2 to rest, shower and recharge the batteries! Thank you Dormitory for the hospitality and cold refreshing "Missouri" wine!

Great Times on the Katy Trail!

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
S, S and L from Ohio and NC on 05/28/2018 11:53 AM:
Loved it here - everything we needed for a great rest from several hard days of biking. Clean, comfy, wonderful host. Thank you for the help with the flat tire! Highly recommend!!

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
David from Dallas, TX on 05/29/2017 08:33 AM:
Got a great nights sleep here while touring the Katy. Room had just what we needed to be comfortable for the night and staff was attentive. Nice secure lock up for the bikes.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Bjm from Lees Summit, MO on 05/28/2017 07:12 AM:
They very accommodating for our night stay and bike ride on the Katy Trail. We ordered a sack lunch and they had it ready and even supplied a bag of ice for the cooler. I would highly recommend staying here.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Nick from Colorado on 05/01/2017 03:29 PM:
I stayed in the North Dormitory and it had everything I needed--a futon that made into a comfortable bed, plenty of breakfast items, good wifi, a place to clean and store my bike, and a quiet environment. I would stay there again.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
@cknewman from Kansas City on 03/19/2017 12:31 PM:
We stayed in the Dormitory at School House on March 17th after cycling up from Windsor that day. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and we enjoyed some time out on the porch with drinks from the fridge before we cleaned up. The bike shed was a great perk and had some spare parts, tires, etc. which was thoughtful. All the door locks are number coded which makes sharing rooms and check out easy. I was excited to see a full modern laundry area which I used to clean my cycling clothes. I did happen to bring some detergent so it worked out great. The room had a nice shower and good pressure. The fridge breakfast had a little bit of everything - fruit, yogurt, sodas, bagels, cereal. I'd recommend having energy drinks, energy/granola bars, and bananas which most cyclists would take with or eat early. A couple of other comments are that if full, the rooms next door can get a bit noisy but the others were respectful of noise levels mostly. Also while it doesn't need to be huge, the TV could have been a bit bigger. It worked great to have a cable TV option in the room but wanting to watch the NCAA games that night it was something to note. We would definitely stay here again! Just a note in general, if you come from the western side of the state and go to Rocheport and turn around there, you are missing some beautiful scenery just east of the town. It is worth going out a little longer and coming back through Rocheport to see the bluffs and the river views.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Alex P from St Louis on 10/30/2016 03:28 PM:
Stayed here in Sep 2016. Mike and Lisa are GREAT! I had hell of an adventure :D. I thought there is a camping in Rocheport... So I was trying to find B&B of course no cell signal :D Of course it's getting darker and darker and of course mosquitos are hungry :D. Locals told me about School house I did couple wrong turns and I finally found the place. Mike got me a room at 9pm without any reservations and calls in advance. He even gave me a free pizza for dinner! Loved comfortable couch and bed! This place is super cool, super hi tech - all the water savers, energy efficient lights... They do care about B&B. There is a laundry in facility which I was more than happy to use. I got my camel bag refilled from cold cooler at the the morning and even got a branded water bottle as a present :). I will recommend this place to anyone. Best stay in Rocheport!

 
James Eychaner from Olympia, WA on 10/31/2016 11:26 AM:
Agree. Mike is a great host, and the facilities are first rate.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
James Eychaner from Olympia on 10/13/2016 03:12 PM:
All around excellent. We had no reservations and called from the driveway. Mike took care of us with good humor. Comfortable, clean, modern, and quiet.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Bevis Schock from St. Louis on 07/29/2016 10:33 AM:
The Dormitory is very sharp. Nice rooms, good bathrooms, etc. Breakfast was a little thin.


 
School House Innkeeper from Rocheport on 09/24/2016 11:34 AM:
We're glad you enjoyed our Dormitory House self-serve property while cycling the Katy Trail. Breakfast for Dorm House guests is a self-serve continental style of mostly pre-packaged items (to meet local health code rules since our property is inspected by the Boone County Health Dept). Each Dorm room is stocked with: muffins, bagels, jam and cream cheese, yogurt, bottled juices, apples and oranges, a variety of cold cereals and instant oatmeal, carton of milk, coffee, decaf and tea and creamers, sugar and Splenda packets for coffee additives. Each room has its own small fridge, microwave and coffeemaker so cyclists can eat as early as they want before taking on the trail.

 
Rrandy from Ofallon MO on 10/09/2016 10:22 PM:
We stayed there last week and just as stated breakfast was a prepackaged yet very well thought out . We felt the dormitory was a good value, super clean with the laundry and extra bath a big plus.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Lynn from Overland Park, KS on 09/22/2016 07:37 PM:
We spent the night in a dorm room at School House B+B while biking the Katy Trail. We found the room, while quite compact, had everything we needed. It was clean and comfortable and had all the supplies we would want. Plenty of towels, soap, shampoo, etc and the little kitchenette area was nicely stock with snacks and a wide variety of items for breakfast. We would stay there again.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Shelley from Marquand on 07/16/2016 09:03 AM:
This is a fantastic stay! I have had the good experience of staying in many B&Bs and cannot say strongly enough Schoolhouse understands hospitality. The tall, wooden gate was open which told me welcome. I found the self-service check-in easy and worked out as it said it would. Firstly, immaculately clean (except top of fan paddles) and secondly in good repair. They really think of cyclist-I was amazed at their intimate understanding. Great, secure cycle shed, new washer and dryer with all necessities, a second bathroom outside your room's private bath with a deep sink for hand washables and honor system offerings of wine or beer. Healthy snacks in fridge. We were shuttled to a local restaurant at no extra cost - the driver would not let me tip him. When called for pick up it was remarkedly quick. A nice, private outdoor patio with song provided by a wren. Rocheport is charmingly quaint. I hope to explore more (bookended by severe storms-so pressed to stay safe-we did). Schoolhouse is easy to use and access from Katy Trail.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Rick from Champagn IL on 04/18/2016 06:48 AM:
Very nice accommodations. Very nice folks. I stayed in the dormitory and it was just what I wanted for a night to recover. Would stay there again..

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Melissa from Kansas City on 11/02/2015 03:36 PM:
This was the perfect place for a quick overnight while biking the Katy Trail! The easy check in and out process was very handy. The Dormitory had everything on hand that you may need during your stay. We will absolutely be returning next year.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Gwen from Joplin on 10/09/2015 08:21 PM:
The Dormitory is a wonderful option to all the other Rocheport accommodations which require sharing a bed. The futon and the bunk beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was nicely appointed with a generous supply of linens. The owners really have thought of everything that bikers might need, including a basic healthy breakfast, in room fridge & microwave. There is a spare bathroom in the hall, in case one's in-room bathroom is occupied. The owners let us use the spare bathroom after our ride, even though we had checked out. The only suggestion is that the seating in the rooms is a little limited, so I would advice planning one's evening elsewhere, perhaps even the lovely patio. The neighborhood is quiet and the off-street parking is convenient. It couldn't have been nicer.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Bill & Judy from Kansas City on 10/04/2015 04:48 PM:
Outstanding! Cozy but comfortable. Would stay here again.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Ginny Williams from Fairway, KS on 09/27/2015 09:45 AM:
This is the second year that I stayed at the dormitory. I would highly recommend it. The proprietor has thought of everything. It is clean, comfortable and she provides a cold breakfast for the bicyclists.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Sean Swift from Sand Springs, OK on 08/03/2015 06:28 PM:
Pros: The accomadations were fine. New build, clean, pretty setting.
Cons:
1. They charged us a cancellation fee when we cancelled more than 30 days before our arrival date.
2. 4pm check in time is too late. Then they charge you $25 for early check in.
3. We had unique parking needs when we arrived. We called, went to the main building between 4&6pm as instructed and couldn't locate anyone to ask questions.
Recommendation: Have someone present to help check in, answer questions, or maybe a friendly "Welcome".....



 
Anonoh on 08/03/2015 07:03 PM:
It appears you are one of hardly none that has a negative comment over the past several years about this B&B? So you did ride the trail even though you cancelled your ride? I believe it has a self-check in policy? Maybe you were higher maintenance than most KT riders for this particular B&B.

 
Sean Swift on 08/03/2015 08:19 PM:
Anonoh, we had two rooms, cancelled one. This was our second tour and our 12th of 13th B&B along the Katy. It's never good when you can't raise communication with the proprietors even though it was during their preferred check in time and you search the buildings and grounds and call the contact number. We don't usually have any lodging problems or complaints.

 
Anonymous on 08/04/2015 12:05 PM:
It's important to read policy before making a reservation. Often times it doesn't matter what the cancel fee is or the arrival time upcharge. They must have enough business that they can get away with doing as they do. There are other lodging options in the area.

 
Sean Swift on 08/04/2015 01:25 PM:
Yes I read the policies etc. as I said, the main beef was no way to find or contact the owners regarding a question involving parking a larger vehicle and OBVIOUSLY there is other lodging in the area which we will pursue our next visit....

 
School House Innkeeper from Rocheport on 08/29/2015 05:05 PM:
We're sorry our self-service property didn't meet your hospitality expectations and you weren't able to contact us that afternoon/evening when you had questions. I'm really puzzled about that as we are at the Inn from 4 pm to at least 6 pm every day we have Inn guests to check in and that was definitely the case on this Saturday. Also, our business cell phone is always on so that guests in any property can contact us anytime they have a question after hours. We provide this phone number in the Dorm House arrival letter and on the Dorm House porch.
It's not unusual to not have personal contact with guests staying in our self-service property, as several cyclists arrive late and leave early. We don't knock on guest's doors at night unless there is an emergency, etc.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Sarah from Urbana, IL on 07/06/2015 05:48 AM:
Perfect stay. Easy check-in process, and they had everything we needed -- we never did talk to anyone to check in or out, and we were tired, so that was great with us. They had a fridge with milk, soda, yogurt, bagels, etc. and a basket with cereals, so we had a nice little breakfast before hitting the trial again. There was even a bag of ice in the freezer, which use used in our water bottles the next morning. The room was very cute, clean and everything seemed new. Very comfortable mattresses and linens. There was even laundry right outside our room! Nice, plentiful, fluffy towels. A wonderful stay! We rode our bikes to the bistro with the fabulous view -- it's all uphill from the Schoolhouse, but all downhill coming back. Worth the trip!

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
S H from Kansas City, Ks on 07/04/2015 03:14 PM:
Really enjoyed our stay at the Dorm. We'll definitely be back.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
cheri from fort collins,co on 06/29/2015 07:26 AM:
Our first day on the trail and to have a clean room with air conditioning, snacks in the fridge- HEAVEN. Great little town to stay in also. My pick to stay in when passing through. The grounds are gorgeous. They set a high bar for the rest of the trip.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
EB from Greenwood, MO on 06/22/2015 08:12 AM:
I can't remember how many times I've stayed at the Dorms but I've been there enough to make it feel like home. It's perfect for riders ready to get off the trail, take a shower, and relax. The room has everything you need and it really is better than it needs to be. See you next time!

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Dave Hilditch from St Louis on 06/12/2015 12:38 PM:
Very nice DIY accomodations. We were coming off the KT and liked the self check in and appreciated the flexibility of innkeeper vis-a-vis our early arrival. The room was simple but cozy and very comfortable. Ingenious use of space. Simple and tasty self serve breakfast. In short, this place is a great value for your $$ and so close to the KT and Rocheport restaurants.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
misanoel on 06/07/2015 01:26 PM:
Informal yet immaculate, the Schoolhouse B & B Dormitory offers a charming, comfortable kid-friendly alternative to the many Rocheport B&Bs whose services are restricted to mature guests. The hosts, though considerately unobtrusive, anticipated our every need, from the beautifully landscaped outdoor patio to the thoughtful selection of continental breakfast options. Best of all, the rates are competitive with those of mid-range motel rooms in nearby Columbia. We look forward to staying in the Dorm again, and I highly recommend it to couples and small families in need of pleasant but practical accommodations.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Les Wrestles MS 190 Team Member from Lee's Summit, MO on 06/06/2015 02:13 PM:
The North Dorm room at the School House was perfect after a rainy day on the Katy Trail. The room was modern, quiet, comfortable, and very clean. It was close to the trail and Abigail's Restaurant, which had excellent food. There was a washer and dryer which was well appreciated after the rain and a well-stocked frig for breakfast.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Smith from Colorado on 05/08/2015 09:52 AM:
The Dormitory @ School House is a great place to stay after a day on the KATY Trail. The Innkeepers are very nice & concerned for you. The bike workstop/storage area is a great feature. The refrigerator (w/treats) and micro are that special touch for late arrival & early departures. Very quiet, very clean, very pretty.... Very satisfied.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Webdog from Overland Park, KS on 05/05/2015 02:36 PM:
Just finished a two-night stay at the Dormitory. Served very nicely as a base for a couple of days of trail exploration. In much better shape than most hotel rooms, more like staying in a guest house. Very clean, quiet and comfortable with a price that can't be beat. I can't think of anything I would add. The stocked fridge was greatly appreciated for a quick morning breakfast and to keep our own goodies fresh. The patio provided a perfect place to spend a nice, quiet evening after a day on the trail. I would definitely stay here again.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Kathy from Kansas City, MO on 10/30/2014 05:09 PM:
My husband and I rode the Katy Oct 29th and stayed that night at the Dormitory North. We had a beautiful day, wonderful dinner at the winery and nice stay that night. The Dormitory North was equipped with everything you need, it was clean and the grounds were beautiful.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Patti from St. Charles on 10/27/2014 05:24 PM:
Our accommodations at School House B&B Dormitory was perfect! Much more than I had expected. The description and pictures do not do it justice. He had everything we needed and then some.
Being our first Katy trail trip we didn't know what to expect or what we would need. The dorm was equipped with everything we could have possible needed. Rocheport is such a quaint little town. We did not have enough time there but we will definitely be back!

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
kim&rick from Leesburg, VA on 10/21/2014 08:25 PM:
We stayed in the north Dormitory at the Schoolhouse B&B when we biked the Rocheport area. Loved the convenience of the Dormitory to the Katy Trail. Accomodations were very clean, modern and comfortable. Room had bunk beds and a queen size futon. Also had a fridge that was stocked with fresh fruit, packaged pastries, yogurt and drinks (milk, juice and soda) for snacking or continental breakfast. Cereal, oatmeal and popcorn was also provided in room. A microwave, flat screen tv, tv trays and folding chairs provided more of the comforts of home. Grounds have plenty of spaces to enjoy the outdoors. Nice convenient parking. Shed to store bikes. Full size washer & dryer to use at no additional cost. There is even a shower you can use after you have checked out. Dining not plentiful, especially on a monday or tuesday. We enjoyed the Les Burgeois winery for lunch and the Phoenix in Boonville for dinner. Hosts very friendly. If you stay in main building they provide full breakfast. Dormitory fit our budget much better. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
pvevelyn on 10/16/2014 11:23 PM:
This is a small building adjacent to the School House B&B that contains two units. It is conveniently located in a quiet neighborhood about a third mile from the Katy Trail and very close to Abigail's Restaurant, the mercantile store and some antique stores. We stayed in the North unit which has twin bunks and a queen sofabed. The unit is basic but quite cozy, comfortable, clean and appears fairly new. It offers adequate amenities and is a good alternative to the mostly more expensive lodging in Rocheport. However, if you are looking for a real B&B experience, this is not the place for you. Laundry facilities and a secure bike storage shed are available. The continental breakfast is self-serve with cereals, muffins, bagels, yogurt, instant oatmeal, coffee, tea provided.