Katy Trail Home  The Katy Trail and Rock Island Trail Rock Island Trail Home

Dormitory at School House B + B

Lodging
Rocheport / Rocheport MO
Mile marker 178.3
303 Lewis Street
573-698-2022
Dormitory at School House B + B is located 1/3 mile from the Katy Trail, in Rocheport MO

Directions: Pike St. crosses trail @ trailhead. N on Pike 2 blocks to 3rd St. Left on 3rd 2 blocks to Lewis, then N on Lewis 2nd house on right.
Dormitory at School House B + B
Dormitory at School House B B
Your Current Location (if allowed by browser)
Katy Trail

Forum Discussions about Dormitory at School House B + B

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
D. Elliott from Dallas on 04/30/2019 07:14 PM:
The Dormatory room was clean and comfy. My husband is over 6 feet tall however,and we pulled the mattress off the top bunk onto the floor so he could stretch out. Mattresses were good quality though. We really appreciated the locked bike shed and the free washer/driver right outside room. Extra bathroom down hall came in handy too. Only disappointment I guess would be the convenience store muffins and bagels served for breakfast.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
DW from Kirksville on 09/17/2018 07:25 AM:
We really enjoyed our stay At the Dormitory at School House B&B, we have been staying there since 2010. Has all the basic needs we like. Very clean and convent to the downtown and shops. If you come to ride the Katy trail like we do you will be impressed that there is a bike shed to keep your bike in and even basic repair and air needs.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Dennis & Beverly from Monett MO on 09/03/2018 01:35 PM:
What a wonderful, cozy, clean and quiet place for 2 to rest, shower and recharge the batteries! Thank you Dormitory for the hospitality and cold refreshing "Missouri" wine!

Great Times on the Katy Trail!

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
S, S and L from Ohio and NC on 05/28/2018 11:53 AM:
Loved it here - everything we needed for a great rest from several hard days of biking. Clean, comfy, wonderful host. Thank you for the help with the flat tire! Highly recommend!!

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
David from Dallas, TX on 05/29/2017 08:33 AM:
Got a great nights sleep here while touring the Katy. Room had just what we needed to be comfortable for the night and staff was attentive. Nice secure lock up for the bikes.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Bjm from Lees Summit, MO on 05/28/2017 07:12 AM:
They very accommodating for our night stay and bike ride on the Katy Trail. We ordered a sack lunch and they had it ready and even supplied a bag of ice for the cooler. I would highly recommend staying here.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Nick from Colorado on 05/01/2017 03:29 PM:
I stayed in the North Dormitory and it had everything I needed--a futon that made into a comfortable bed, plenty of breakfast items, good wifi, a place to clean and store my bike, and a quiet environment. I would stay there again.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
@cknewman from Kansas City on 03/19/2017 12:31 PM:
We stayed in the Dormitory at School House on March 17th after cycling up from Windsor that day. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and we enjoyed some time out on the porch with drinks from the fridge before we cleaned up. The bike shed was a great perk and had some spare parts, tires, etc. which was thoughtful. All the door locks are number coded which makes sharing rooms and check out easy. I was excited to see a full modern laundry area which I used to clean my cycling clothes. I did happen to bring some detergent so it worked out great. The room had a nice shower and good pressure. The fridge breakfast had a little bit of everything - fruit, yogurt, sodas, bagels, cereal. I'd recommend having energy drinks, energy/granola bars, and bananas which most cyclists would take with or eat early. A couple of other comments are that if full, the rooms next door can get a bit noisy but the others were respectful of noise levels mostly. Also while it doesn't need to be huge, the TV could have been a bit bigger. It worked great to have a cable TV option in the room but wanting to watch the NCAA games that night it was something to note. We would definitely stay here again! Just a note in general, if you come from the western side of the state and go to Rocheport and turn around there, you are missing some beautiful scenery just east of the town. It is worth going out a little longer and coming back through Rocheport to see the bluffs and the river views.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Alex P from St Louis on 10/30/2016 03:28 PM:
Stayed here in Sep 2016. Mike and Lisa are GREAT! I had hell of an adventure :D. I thought there is a camping in Rocheport... So I was trying to find B&B of course no cell signal :D Of course it's getting darker and darker and of course mosquitos are hungry :D. Locals told me about School house I did couple wrong turns and I finally found the place. Mike got me a room at 9pm without any reservations and calls in advance. He even gave me a free pizza for dinner! Loved comfortable couch and bed! This place is super cool, super hi tech - all the water savers, energy efficient lights... They do care about B&B. There is a laundry in facility which I was more than happy to use. I got my camel bag refilled from cold cooler at the the morning and even got a branded water bottle as a present :). I will recommend this place to anyone. Best stay in Rocheport!

 
James Eychaner from Olympia, WA on 10/31/2016 11:26 AM:
Agree. Mike is a great host, and the facilities are first rate.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
James Eychaner from Olympia on 10/13/2016 03:12 PM:
All around excellent. We had no reservations and called from the driveway. Mike took care of us with good humor. Comfortable, clean, modern, and quiet.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Bevis Schock from St. Louis on 07/29/2016 10:33 AM:
The Dormitory is very sharp. Nice rooms, good bathrooms, etc. Breakfast was a little thin.


 
School House Innkeeper from Rocheport on 09/24/2016 11:34 AM:
We're glad you enjoyed our Dormitory House self-serve property while cycling the Katy Trail. Breakfast for Dorm House guests is a self-serve continental style of mostly pre-packaged items (to meet local health code rules since our property is inspected by the Boone County Health Dept). Each Dorm room is stocked with: muffins, bagels, jam and cream cheese, yogurt, bottled juices, apples and oranges, a variety of cold cereals and instant oatmeal, carton of milk, coffee, decaf and tea and creamers, sugar and Splenda packets for coffee additives. Each room has its own small fridge, microwave and coffeemaker so cyclists can eat as early as they want before taking on the trail.

 
Rrandy from Ofallon MO on 10/09/2016 10:22 PM:
We stayed there last week and just as stated breakfast was a prepackaged yet very well thought out . We felt the dormitory was a good value, super clean with the laundry and extra bath a big plus.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Lynn from Overland Park, KS on 09/22/2016 07:37 PM:
We spent the night in a dorm room at School House B+B while biking the Katy Trail. We found the room, while quite compact, had everything we needed. It was clean and comfortable and had all the supplies we would want. Plenty of towels, soap, shampoo, etc and the little kitchenette area was nicely stock with snacks and a wide variety of items for breakfast. We would stay there again.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Shelley from Marquand on 07/16/2016 09:03 AM:
This is a fantastic stay! I have had the good experience of staying in many B&Bs and cannot say strongly enough Schoolhouse understands hospitality. The tall, wooden gate was open which told me welcome. I found the self-service check-in easy and worked out as it said it would. Firstly, immaculately clean (except top of fan paddles) and secondly in good repair. They really think of cyclist-I was amazed at their intimate understanding. Great, secure cycle shed, new washer and dryer with all necessities, a second bathroom outside your room's private bath with a deep sink for hand washables and honor system offerings of wine or beer. Healthy snacks in fridge. We were shuttled to a local restaurant at no extra cost - the driver would not let me tip him. When called for pick up it was remarkedly quick. A nice, private outdoor patio with song provided by a wren. Rocheport is charmingly quaint. I hope to explore more (bookended by severe storms-so pressed to stay safe-we did). Schoolhouse is easy to use and access from Katy Trail.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Rick from Champagn IL on 04/18/2016 06:48 AM:
Very nice accommodations. Very nice folks. I stayed in the dormitory and it was just what I wanted for a night to recover. Would stay there again..

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Melissa from Kansas City on 11/02/2015 03:36 PM:
This was the perfect place for a quick overnight while biking the Katy Trail! The easy check in and out process was very handy. The Dormitory had everything on hand that you may need during your stay. We will absolutely be returning next year.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Gwen from Joplin on 10/09/2015 08:21 PM:
The Dormitory is a wonderful option to all the other Rocheport accommodations which require sharing a bed. The futon and the bunk beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was nicely appointed with a generous supply of linens. The owners really have thought of everything that bikers might need, including a basic healthy breakfast, in room fridge & microwave. There is a spare bathroom in the hall, in case one's in-room bathroom is occupied. The owners let us use the spare bathroom after our ride, even though we had checked out. The only suggestion is that the seating in the rooms is a little limited, so I would advice planning one's evening elsewhere, perhaps even the lovely patio. The neighborhood is quiet and the off-street parking is convenient. It couldn't have been nicer.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Bill & Judy from Kansas City on 10/04/2015 04:48 PM:
Outstanding! Cozy but comfortable. Would stay here again.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Ginny Williams from Fairway, KS on 09/27/2015 09:45 AM:
This is the second year that I stayed at the dormitory. I would highly recommend it. The proprietor has thought of everything. It is clean, comfortable and she provides a cold breakfast for the bicyclists.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Sean Swift from Sand Springs, OK on 08/03/2015 06:28 PM:
Pros: The accomadations were fine. New build, clean, pretty setting.
Cons:
1. They charged us a cancellation fee when we cancelled more than 30 days before our arrival date.
2. 4pm check in time is too late. Then they charge you $25 for early check in.
3. We had unique parking needs when we arrived. We called, went to the main building between 4&6pm as instructed and couldn't locate anyone to ask questions.
Recommendation: Have someone present to help check in, answer questions, or maybe a friendly "Welcome".....



 
Anonoh on 08/03/2015 07:03 PM:
It appears you are one of hardly none that has a negative comment over the past several years about this B&B? So you did ride the trail even though you cancelled your ride? I believe it has a self-check in policy? Maybe you were higher maintenance than most KT riders for this particular B&B.

 
Sean Swift on 08/03/2015 08:19 PM:
Anonoh, we had two rooms, cancelled one. This was our second tour and our 12th of 13th B&B along the Katy. It's never good when you can't raise communication with the proprietors even though it was during their preferred check in time and you search the buildings and grounds and call the contact number. We don't usually have any lodging problems or complaints.

 
Anonymous on 08/04/2015 12:05 PM:
It's important to read policy before making a reservation. Often times it doesn't matter what the cancel fee is or the arrival time upcharge. They must have enough business that they can get away with doing as they do. There are other lodging options in the area.

 
Sean Swift on 08/04/2015 01:25 PM:
Yes I read the policies etc. as I said, the main beef was no way to find or contact the owners regarding a question involving parking a larger vehicle and OBVIOUSLY there is other lodging in the area which we will pursue our next visit....

 
School House Innkeeper from Rocheport on 08/29/2015 05:05 PM:
We're sorry our self-service property didn't meet your hospitality expectations and you weren't able to contact us that afternoon/evening when you had questions. I'm really puzzled about that as we are at the Inn from 4 pm to at least 6 pm every day we have Inn guests to check in and that was definitely the case on this Saturday. Also, our business cell phone is always on so that guests in any property can contact us anytime they have a question after hours. We provide this phone number in the Dorm House arrival letter and on the Dorm House porch.
It's not unusual to not have personal contact with guests staying in our self-service property, as several cyclists arrive late and leave early. We don't knock on guest's doors at night unless there is an emergency, etc.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Sarah from Urbana, IL on 07/06/2015 05:48 AM:
Perfect stay. Easy check-in process, and they had everything we needed -- we never did talk to anyone to check in or out, and we were tired, so that was great with us. They had a fridge with milk, soda, yogurt, bagels, etc. and a basket with cereals, so we had a nice little breakfast before hitting the trial again. There was even a bag of ice in the freezer, which use used in our water bottles the next morning. The room was very cute, clean and everything seemed new. Very comfortable mattresses and linens. There was even laundry right outside our room! Nice, plentiful, fluffy towels. A wonderful stay! We rode our bikes to the bistro with the fabulous view -- it's all uphill from the Schoolhouse, but all downhill coming back. Worth the trip!

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
S H from Kansas City, Ks on 07/04/2015 03:14 PM:
Really enjoyed our stay at the Dorm. We'll definitely be back.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
cheri from fort collins,co on 06/29/2015 07:26 AM:
Our first day on the trail and to have a clean room with air conditioning, snacks in the fridge- HEAVEN. Great little town to stay in also. My pick to stay in when passing through. The grounds are gorgeous. They set a high bar for the rest of the trip.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
EB from Greenwood, MO on 06/22/2015 08:12 AM:
I can't remember how many times I've stayed at the Dorms but I've been there enough to make it feel like home. It's perfect for riders ready to get off the trail, take a shower, and relax. The room has everything you need and it really is better than it needs to be. See you next time!

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Dave Hilditch from St Louis on 06/12/2015 12:38 PM:
Very nice DIY accomodations. We were coming off the KT and liked the self check in and appreciated the flexibility of innkeeper vis-a-vis our early arrival. The room was simple but cozy and very comfortable. Ingenious use of space. Simple and tasty self serve breakfast. In short, this place is a great value for your $$ and so close to the KT and Rocheport restaurants.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
misanoel on 06/07/2015 01:26 PM:
Informal yet immaculate, the Schoolhouse B & B Dormitory offers a charming, comfortable kid-friendly alternative to the many Rocheport B&Bs whose services are restricted to mature guests. The hosts, though considerately unobtrusive, anticipated our every need, from the beautifully landscaped outdoor patio to the thoughtful selection of continental breakfast options. Best of all, the rates are competitive with those of mid-range motel rooms in nearby Columbia. We look forward to staying in the Dorm again, and I highly recommend it to couples and small families in need of pleasant but practical accommodations.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Les Wrestles MS 190 Team Member from Lee's Summit, MO on 06/06/2015 02:13 PM:
The North Dorm room at the School House was perfect after a rainy day on the Katy Trail. The room was modern, quiet, comfortable, and very clean. It was close to the trail and Abigail's Restaurant, which had excellent food. There was a washer and dryer which was well appreciated after the rain and a well-stocked frig for breakfast.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Smith from Colorado on 05/08/2015 09:52 AM:
The Dormitory @ School House is a great place to stay after a day on the KATY Trail. The Innkeepers are very nice & concerned for you. The bike workstop/storage area is a great feature. The refrigerator (w/treats) and micro are that special touch for late arrival & early departures. Very quiet, very clean, very pretty.... Very satisfied.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Webdog from Overland Park, KS on 05/05/2015 02:36 PM:
Just finished a two-night stay at the Dormitory. Served very nicely as a base for a couple of days of trail exploration. In much better shape than most hotel rooms, more like staying in a guest house. Very clean, quiet and comfortable with a price that can't be beat. I can't think of anything I would add. The stocked fridge was greatly appreciated for a quick morning breakfast and to keep our own goodies fresh. The patio provided a perfect place to spend a nice, quiet evening after a day on the trail. I would definitely stay here again.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Kathy from Kansas City, MO on 10/30/2014 05:09 PM:
My husband and I rode the Katy Oct 29th and stayed that night at the Dormitory North. We had a beautiful day, wonderful dinner at the winery and nice stay that night. The Dormitory North was equipped with everything you need, it was clean and the grounds were beautiful.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Patti from St. Charles on 10/27/2014 05:24 PM:
Our accommodations at School House B&B Dormitory was perfect! Much more than I had expected. The description and pictures do not do it justice. He had everything we needed and then some.
Being our first Katy trail trip we didn't know what to expect or what we would need. The dorm was equipped with everything we could have possible needed. Rocheport is such a quaint little town. We did not have enough time there but we will definitely be back!

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
kim&rick from Leesburg, VA on 10/21/2014 08:25 PM:
We stayed in the north Dormitory at the Schoolhouse B&B when we biked the Rocheport area. Loved the convenience of the Dormitory to the Katy Trail. Accomodations were very clean, modern and comfortable. Room had bunk beds and a queen size futon. Also had a fridge that was stocked with fresh fruit, packaged pastries, yogurt and drinks (milk, juice and soda) for snacking or continental breakfast. Cereal, oatmeal and popcorn was also provided in room. A microwave, flat screen tv, tv trays and folding chairs provided more of the comforts of home. Grounds have plenty of spaces to enjoy the outdoors. Nice convenient parking. Shed to store bikes. Full size washer & dryer to use at no additional cost. There is even a shower you can use after you have checked out. Dining not plentiful, especially on a monday or tuesday. We enjoyed the Les Burgeois winery for lunch and the Phoenix in Boonville for dinner. Hosts very friendly. If you stay in main building they provide full breakfast. Dormitory fit our budget much better. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
pvevelyn on 10/16/2014 11:23 PM:
This is a small building adjacent to the School House B&B that contains two units. It is conveniently located in a quiet neighborhood about a third mile from the Katy Trail and very close to Abigail's Restaurant, the mercantile store and some antique stores. We stayed in the North unit which has twin bunks and a queen sofabed. The unit is basic but quite cozy, comfortable, clean and appears fairly new. It offers adequate amenities and is a good alternative to the mostly more expensive lodging in Rocheport. However, if you are looking for a real B&B experience, this is not the place for you. Laundry facilities and a secure bike storage shed are available. The continental breakfast is self-serve with cereals, muffins, bagels, yogurt, instant oatmeal, coffee, tea provided.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Cary from Tuckey on 10/05/2014 03:41 PM:
We had a great stay at the Dormitory. It was a night of Cardinals and Royals baseball in a very comfortable setting...and when we ran out of wine, the owners delivered speedily! We would stay there again. Our only suggestion would be to maybe have a few "real" muffins, etc. for the do-it- yourself breakfast. We liked having the flexibility to eat on our own schedule but found the fare to be a bit lacking. Otherwise all was great!

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Darryl from St. Louis on 09/28/2014 09:27 PM:
Just finished our second stay at the Dormitory and found it is still a excellent overnight stay location for KATY Trail cyclists. The dorm is very clean, well stocked and has a new washer and dryer available for dorm guests.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
J. Morrissey from Prairie Village, KS on 09/21/2014 08:54 PM:
We loved our stay at the School House Dorm. My daughter and I had a mother-daughter overnight as a special treat. It was very clean, comfortable and charming. The bathroom was especially nice. The innkeepers thought of everything - even DVDs for us to watch. We also enjoyed the plentiful breakfast items the innkeepers left for us. The dorm was super quiet and a wonderful place to relax. We will definitely return to the School House Dorm.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
David Lloyd from Winfield on 08/16/2014 07:53 AM:
This place was wonderful. They put forth extra effort to meet request. The cleanest place I stayed.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Becca Wilson from St. Louis, MO on 07/13/2014 09:53 AM:
I stayed here unexpectedly after my back tire stopped holding air (friendly tip: If you get three roofer's nails thru your tire the week before you ride across Missouri, just get a new tire, don't just stick a few dollar bills in there ;)). I had a room booked in Boonville but was up a creek, and decided if I stayed in Rocheport until the morning I could buy a tire from the Trailside Cafe and Bike Rental shop. I called all the B & B's in town, and Mike was the first and only owner to return my call. Not only is the dormitory 100% ideal for a weary cyclist, but they have a workspace set up for cyclists. I explained my plight, and Mike said I could look thru the spares he had, and amazingly, he had a Kenda 700x35, exactly what I needed. So not only was it the favorite night of my trip, also what SAVED my trip, and actually one of the best B&B experiences I've ever had. So don't feel shy about staying there.

 
Katython from my bike on 07/14/2014 09:18 AM:
Met and rapped at length with you at Pilot Grove trailhead. Was concerned bout you. When I lifted up your bike I was amazed at the weight on your back tires. Having a racing bike caused me to find ways to redistribute the weight like tying, taping tent poles, a rolled tarp, belt looped around and on the front of the handle bars went the tent folded to fit without creating any complications or wind drag. Front panniers or cooler bags in lieu of them for the front tires are ideal and would greatly enhance the ride. Balancing weight load is something that I never concerned myself with before last week. Having to address this creatively looking at every knook and cranny on the bike that I could find a place to stash the stuff helped me realize how much better it is to shift the weight load off the back tires. Hope the rest of your trip went great.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Anonymous from Kansas City on 06/30/2014 10:46 AM:
Three of us stayed in the South Dormitory and loved it! It was perfect for our visit and loved the amenities for biking...a locked shed, hose and towels for dusty bikes and legs, extra bathroom with deep sink, plenty of breakfast items, access to the community bathroom in the dormitory to wash up before we got in the car to go home. We also appreciated the umbrellas when it was pouring and we were headed to a restaurant for breakfast. The main house is absolutely gorgeous.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
William from Georgia on 06/24/2014 04:52 PM:
After biking from Hermann I picked the schoolhouse bed and breakfast in Rocheport to spend the night. I stayed in the dormitory room which was very clean (cleaner than some nice hotels ive been in). Not to mention there is a secure bike storage and laundry. The owner was also very nice, friendly, and helpful. I highly recommend to anyone looking for a good place to stay to consider the dormitory bed and breakfast.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
AAD from Dallas on 06/24/2014 08:37 AM:
GREAT accommodations for bikers! Close to Katy Trail, clean, had bike storage and tools, and all that we needed before heading out the next morning. This is the second time we have stayed there and I would highly recommend it.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
mtnclimber10 from Ft Collins, CO on 06/14/2014 08:43 PM:
Biking the Katy trail, this was my first time staying at the dorm and 'WOW!!' kind of says it all! It is perfect for bikers as it has complimentary laundry, bike storage shed with complimentary air compressor to air up tires and tools to make any bike adjustments, self service check in and out makes it easy & convenient. Room has fridge, microwave & tv/dvd. The fridge is stocked with breakfast items and sodas (both reg. & diet)and a popcorn treat is by the microwave. Don't let the name 'DORM' scare you off. The room is private with it's own private bath. The South Dorm room has a bunk bed and a Futon. Very comfortable, modern, and clean. This was my favorite place to stay on the whole Katy trail!

 
ABraz07 from Bridgeton, MO on 06/16/2014 12:50 PM:
I stayed there on June 3rd. Awesome! Mike and Lisa are the best, and they have thought of everything!

 
ABraz07 from Bridgeton, MO on 06/16/2014 12:57 PM:
There are pics of the Dormitory as well as some video on my Facebook page:

https://www.facebook.com/acrossMO

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Dee Ann from Olathe, Kansas on 05/27/2014 07:22 AM:
Was very impressed with the accommodations. Room was clean and everything was provided for our every need, including food and drink. Would make a great place to stay for 1-3 people.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Dan from Fairfax, VA on 05/20/2014 08:52 AM:
Stayed at the School House Bed and Breakfast
504 3rd St, Rocheport MO 65279
www.SchoolHouseBB.com while biking the Katy Trail in May '14. Super accommodations.

Also, recommend Abigail's as a great place to eat. Call for reservations beforehand.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Jamie beaudin from Kansas city on 03/09/2014 08:58 PM:
One of the greatest places I have ever stayed. So cozy and comfy. Love this place!

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Debbie from Kansas City on 10/28/2013 03:15 PM:
My two friends and I loved the dormitory. We were in town for Mizzou Homecoming, and found the accommodations very comfortable, clean and economical. We also enjoyed the free food and drink in the refrigerator!

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Dan Wehmer from Springfield, Missouri on 10/21/2013 09:33 AM:
Just a phenomenal stay for us in the dormitory! Everything was stellar, from the easy check in, to the cleanliness, to the comfort of the beds, to the great breakfast items provided that fit our needs perfectly. The scene for us was picturesque ... a cute lodge in a neat little town. Although we do enjoy biking, our reason for staying on this occasion was that we were visiting for a Mizzou football game. The next morning, we shopped all over Rocheport and ate lunch, spending nearly three hours in the little hamlet on a Sunday afternoon. This was like a trip back in time to our childhood, as my wife and I each were raised in small towns with friendly mom-and-pop merchants. That still exists in Rocheport, and the School House B&B is the perfect place to stay. We'll certainly be back, many times!

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Jan from Omaha on 10/01/2013 09:37 PM:
We enjoyed the South Dormitory room very much. very nice, clean and comfortable accommodations. Would definitely stay there again. It was wonderful to be able to walk to Abigails for dinner also.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Brenda D. from Prairie Village, KS on 10/01/2013 06:12 PM:
The Schoolhouse Dormitory was very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. There was a good selection of food in the fridge for breakfast, too. The self check-in system worked just fine and we liked the security of the key code entry on all the doors and bike shed. Last but not least, it was affordably priced! We would definitely stay again!

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Ebremser from Kansas City on 08/01/2013 08:49 AM:
Fantastic place to stay! We used Rocheport as our base for two days on the KATY trail. Every single thing was thought of at the School House Dorm. Easy in and out, place for our bikes to be safely stored, very clean room and bathroom. Breakfast provided. Perfect.

 
Lisa Friedemann from Rocheport on 08/11/2013 11:37 AM:
Thank you for your feedback on our Dormitory House! We designed this property with cyclist needs in mind. Some people are confused by the name and think it is a 'hostel' or 'bunkhouse' where one is staying with strangers, but it is NOT. There are 2 PRIVATE guest rooms, each with PRIVATE bath. The rooms are set up with bunkbeds and a foldout bed so they can accommodate cyclist guests who want to save money by staying in the same room, but may not want to share a bed.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
dln from Topeka,KS on 07/28/2013 06:27 PM:
We loved this place! My husband, son, daughter and I all stayed in the north room and it was perfect for what we needed. Just a place to spend the night before riding the katy trail the next day. Everything was clean and fresh, beds comfortable, and we enjoyed eating on the patio. Our daughter made friends with Trudy, the cat who lived outside.

 
Trek on 07/29/2013 10:21 AM:
I think Trudy was looking for your daughter when we left Sunday morning. She was approaching the car, crying as lonely cats do, as we shut the doors and backed out.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Susan from Leawood on 07/26/2013 02:56 PM:
Enjoyed our stay very much at the Dormitory at School House. The room was very cozy. It was a nice place to get away from it all.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
J C from Lees Summit on 07/05/2013 05:47 PM:
Dormitory at School House B & B was perfect for our family of four. Super clean and well supplied with toiletries, laundry & continental breakfast needs. Thanks Mike & Lisa ... we will be back!

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
MMM from Springfield, MO on 06/28/2013 12:48 PM:
Perfect accommodations for cyclists after a day on the Katy. Private, clean, comfortable. Our favorite perk of staying at the Dormitory is the use of the shower in their Locker Room even after checking out that morning. It sure makes the drive home easier to wash off the grit and sweat of the trail. We will stay there again!

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Cara from Shawnee, Kansas on 10/13/2012 06:54 PM:
Very nice accommodations. Very nice and clean, but not fancy. Perfect for a family stay. Late check in was super easy. Very close to the trail. TV could have been a little bigger.


Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Jim and Lisa from Jefferson City on 10/07/2012 02:53 PM:
Friendly and clean. We had a great stay.
Thanks

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
perry tornquist from new braunfels, texas on 09/26/2012 09:18 AM:
Mike and Lisa run a first class stay in Rocheport, I stayed in the dorm, they have the check in and check out down to a science. Mike even loaned me his car as the local eating places were closed on the night i was there. will stay there again.

Perry

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Kay Dieckmann from St. Louis on 09/17/2012 10:40 AM:
The Dormitory at School House was the perfect place to spend the night. What a darling town and the SChool House was a five star "hotel". It was so clean and the beds were comfy. The refrigerator was stocked with everything you needed and more. We will defintely be back.

 
Anonymous from Princeton Jct NJ on 09/22/2012 08:43 PM:
Two of us stayed in the north dorm on night 2 of our Katy ride. Found it had everything we needed, more than enough food to get us through a Monday night and our breakfast the next day (though we had stopped at Snoddy's across the bridge from Boonville for a sandwich to go, and arrived in time to get cobbler from the Trailside Cafe). And we liked that we were on our own schedule for arriving, departing the next day. Would recommend it to other Katy riders.
Wish more was open on a Monday night in Rocheport. Beyond Abigail's, we heard great things about the new wood-burning pizza oven place on the trail.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Frank and Dorothy from Overland Park, KS on 08/27/2012 11:33 AM:
It was a comfortable one night stay for the price for the two of us. The room was small, the bathroom relatively large. One problem - we couldn't figure out how to get the futon bed back up to the couch position. Since we only stayed one night, we didn't worry about it, but if we were staying longer, we would have probably had to get the proprietor to give us one on one lessons. We would definitely consider going back.

 
School House Dormitory Innkeeper from Rocheport MO on 09/04/2012 02:55 PM:
We're glad you enjoyed your stay at our cyclist lodging property. We realize some guests may not be familiar with how futon frames operate, so we have instructions posted on the wall in each of the two Dormitory guest rooms. Also, as on-site innkeepers, we are available to assist guests with any needs; just call our cell phone.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
aelwell from Nixa, MO on 08/05/2012 02:19 PM:
Very welcoming to cyclists like me and my friend. Comfortable, clean and modern. We loved having access to shower in the Locker Room after our long ride on the Katy, even after check-out. We took advantage of the sack lunches, too. Tasty. Highly recommend.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Bill W from Manhattan Kansas on 07/17/2012 11:34 AM:
Our stay at the Dormitory at School House B&B was simply Marvelous. It is new, clean, and provides all the necessary amenities. Highly Recommend. I'm looking forward to returning someday and staying at the full service School House B&B. Looks even better.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Ds from Mobile, Al on 06/22/2012 08:27 PM:
We thoroughly enjoyed the Dormitory and hospitality. Three of us were in the room, and we were very comfortable. Everything was clean, and we really appreciated the complimentary laundry service and a safe place to keep our bikes. The breakfast was more than adequate for a long ride ahead. I definitely would stay here again!

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Bill Amos from Manchester, MO on 06/14/2012 06:56 PM:
I brought a party of 6 to overnight at the Dormitory last week during our annual bike ride. We are repeat customers and Mike and Lisa took great care of us - as always! I highly recommend the Dormitory for bikers.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Rebguy from Olathe KS on 06/04/2012 03:19 PM:
Room was very comfortable for the two of us overnight. we cycled there from Clinton, MO. Well stocked breakfast items. Call the Inn if you have special requests or needs as I emailed as my son in law and I wanted a bottle of wine waiting when we arrived but my email request was never responded too! Room clean and plenty of hotwater. Thanks for a great stay.

 
School House Innkeeper from Rocheport on 06/06/2012 08:06 PM:
We're glad you enjoyed your stay at our Dormitory House. Sorry we didn't receive your email request for wine; we do have a liquor license and keep chilled wine and beer for sale in the Inn; just call our cell phone when you arrive and we're happy to deliver a bottle to your room.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
CS from Shawnee, KS on 05/29/2012 10:54 AM:
We really enjoyed staying at the Doritory at the School House. We were looking for something different but affordable. Mike was very cordial and the accomodations were great, clean, well done and you get a lot for the price. The grounds are beautiful and peaceful. Thanks so much!

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Ellen and Joe from Hill Country of Texas on 05/07/2012 07:27 PM:
We loved the dormitory accommodations. They are truly a first-class operation with new, scrupulously clean, and beautifully landscaped quarters. They even provide a great laundry facility in the building. Cold drinks and simple breakfast foods were provided in the fridge in our room, along with tea and coffee. We would highly recommend the Schoolhouse Dormitory.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Anonymous from St Louis, MO on 11/08/2011 11:35 AM:
We have stayed twice at the Dormitory at School House B&B and will go again. It is perfect for Katy Trail riding and very comfortable and CLEAN. It is well-located and an excellent place to stay in Rocheport.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
rh from Colorado on 10/28/2011 11:51 AM:
We certainly enjoyed your place. It was clean, attractive and met our needs. It was wonderful to get accommodations after getting caught in the rain. Having pizza available for dinner meant we did not have to go back out in the rain. Would certainly recommend it.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Kyle from Dallas on 10/10/2011 09:05 AM:
Great place to stay! The room was immaculate. The property and landscape was beautiful!

Kehde's Barbeque, Sedalia
Beth from Denver on 10/04/2011 09:17 PM:
Our group of 10 had a good time and a great meal at Kehde's which seemed to be the only place in town open on Sunday night. John and Debbie took great care of us. If there are four or fewer in your group, sit in the pullman car attached to the main building--it would add a fun experience to a delicious meal.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Anonymous from Vinton Ia on 09/22/2011 11:04 AM:
The dormitory was just right. It was great to have laundry available, a stocked refrig, and a futon to lay on. So many B and B type rooms only have chairs that you really don't want to lounge on after a day of biking. Thank you!

 
Anonymous from Castle Rock CO on 10/03/2011 07:15 PM:
We also recommend the Dorm. Fairly new building, comfortable. Generous self-serve breakfast. Tour main building between 4-6... beautifully restored!

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Anthony, Joan, Stephen from Kansas City on 08/23/2011 09:31 PM:
We've stayed at the Dormitory twice. It truly caters to bicylists. It's close to the Katy Trail, close to eating establishments, and close to places to take a walk/hike. The rooms are comfortable, inviting, and stocked with perfect food for bicylists. We'll return again and again.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Pam and Laura from St Louis on 08/21/2011 09:59 PM:
We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay! The facilities were lovely and so convenient, including the additional shower facilities in the dorm. All the instructions to help us navigate our room were really well done. The recommendation for dining at the restaurant along the river (unfortunately I have forgotten the name!) and the transportation to and from were truly above and beyond. Our stay at the Dormitory helped make our adventure all the better. We would recommend this treasure without hesitation!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!






Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Newbie Katy Biker on 07/11/2011 08:20 PM:
As we are planning our first ride from Sedalia to St. Charles, I just had a question. We are staying at the Dormitory. How far is the Les Bourgeouis Bistro to the schoolhouse B&B? Is there any transportation available if we are too weary to ride our bikes there?

 
SteveK from saint louis, MO on 07/11/2011 11:40 PM:
It is a couple of miles, and they now have a path off of the Katy just east of Rocheport directly up to the winery. It is steep so you may have to hike part of it, but it is a lot better than trying to ride on the road to up there.

 
Dann from Willard on 07/12/2011 05:20 AM:
We took the road from trailhead to the Bistro. And after using their path to get back on the Katy we were glad we took the road.their path is very steep. You would have to be a very experienced MT. Biker to ride up or down it. When we asked the guy working in the trail side bike shop where the restaurant was he suggested we take the hwy. It's just a little more than a mile from trailhead.

 
SteveK from saint louis, MO on 07/13/2011 09:20 PM:
I have rode both the highway and the trail and I prefer the trail. It is steep, I rode down it on a hybrid and had to hike up it most of the way. However, no way I get hit by a car on that trail, which is why I prefer it.

 
Todd from Kansas City on 07/14/2011 11:50 AM:
We stayed at the SchoolHouse B&B in June and the owners of the B&B drove us to the Bistro, then returned to pick us up after dinner. I'm not sure they always do this, but we were the only ones staying at the B&B that evening.

 
Trek on 07/14/2011 09:46 PM:
I've never seen traffic to be an issue on the road from the winery to Rocheport. It is up hill leaving town to go to the bistro.....but it's a nice peacefull downhill on the return to town.

 
Lisa - School House Innkeeper from Rocheport on 08/21/2011 10:50 AM:
We are usually available after 6pm to shuttle our cyclist guests to and from the Bistro for dinner on Tuesdays-Saturdays since it is an uphill climb. Just call or send us an email before your arrival to let us know you will need transportation.

Dormitory at School House B + B in Rocheport
Jason from Hammond, Indiana on 06/05/2011 10:13 PM:
My Dad and I stayed here for a second time while traveling the Katy Trail. This is, by far, the best B&B along the trail. The dormitory is comfortable and beautifully restored, and makes for a perfect oasis along the trail. Mike & Lisa have gone above-and-beyond for us, taking care of special needs we had. We will stay here, for sure, again.

Dormitory at School House B + B (Rocheport)
eahester from Pleasant Hill, MO on 08/24/2010 11:55 AM:
My friend and I stayed here for our "girl's getaway". Very nice and great location to walk to the local town and shops. Very centrally located. Clean and had everything we needed. We plan on coming back (in a little cooler weather) with several friends and rent out the adjoining room. Thanks Schoolhouse B & B!

Dormitory at School House B + B (Rocheport)
Eric Jolliff on 06/22/2009 01:57 PM:
A very nice place that will meet your every need. The room was clean and modern and the grounds were beautiful.

Dormitory at School House B + B (Rocheport)
Darryl from St. Louis on 09/16/2008 08:25 PM:
My son and I spent a night here during the first week of September on our first annual KATY trail ride. We both highly recommend the Dormitory at School House B + B for cyclists riding the trail. Very clean new rooms with cable TV and full bath. Mini fridge stocked with ample supply of breakfast goodies, also fresh fruit, microwave and coffee maker. Bike storage shed with tools and air compressor.

 
EB from Greenwood on 11/01/2008 06:04 PM:
This is a great place. Exceeded all of my expectations. Neat and clean! They had everything we needed.

 
Mike Friedemann from Rocheport on 04/11/2009 12:57 PM:
Thanks to you both - we've tried to make the Dormitory everything you've described, and for 2009 it's more affordable than ever! Dorm guests also have access to free laundry facilities right outside the rooms - check 'em out at www.schoolhousebb.com/dormitory/dormitory.html, and happy pedaling! Mike Friedemann, School House Dormitory